So I Haven’t Been Running

One thing that I have learned over the past 3.5 years is that college likes to throw things at you.  Colleges like to throw things at you with a great deal of force.  That is fine, I can handle it.  However, my running schedule cannot handle it.  As I have mentioned briefly before, I am student teaching this semester, which is a wonderfully terrifying experience.  This experience has brought a plethora of knowledge, laughter, tears, frustration, joy, respect, and pride.

My ninth graders have given me a world of knowledge and a never-ending supply of quotables.  While I am very sad to be leaving at the beginning of next month, I am (almost) sure that they are even more sad to be losing their teacher who gets overly excited about the Battle of Lexington and Concord, sounds a vuvuzela when it is time to stand up to stretch, and without saying a word places a picture of Aretha Franklin on the desk of any student who is not following the class norms for respect.

I have experienced a wide range of emotions this semester.  What I have not experienced a lot of this semester is running.

For someone who does not understand the relief and joy of running, this may not be a big deal.  But for someone who sometimes needs a long run to feel at ease, this can be frustrating.

The next big race on the schedule is a half marathon two days after my teaching practicum is over.  So it is safe to say that I will not be well-trained.  That being said, this race marks the beginning of training for the 2016 Boston Marathon.  Yes, I am running that race again.  I will be running again for the wonderful Brigham and Women’s Hospital and their quest for Life.Giving.Breakthroughs.  I am so blessed and honored to be a part of this team again, and I cannot wait to hopefully take my running to another level.

Updates will follow more regularly!  Happy running!

2 thoughts on “So I Haven’t Been Running

Leave a Reply

