Bring It On

Back in February, I signed up for a running festival set for the end of August. With the goal being so far off, I thought, “I’ll train really hard, be in the best shape coming off of my second marathon, and I’ll PR in all four races!  Bring it on!”

SIDE NOTE: I signed up for this festival of running rather late at night, probably buried under piles of homework, and looking for a distraction from said piles of homework.

This summer has surely flown by, and I feel defeated.  Long days at work, anxious preparations for a semester of student teaching, an itch to travel that I just can’t scratch right now, and I even managed to sneak in a summer class.  All of this while preparing for another move back to school, which always seems to be untimely and inconvenient.  Sadly, life has gotten in the way of my running, and it truly showed at the running festival that I was looking forward to so much.

The weekend kicked off with a Friday night 5km in the pouring rain.  It was a lovely race and the rain was welcomed because the heat and humidity have been quite harsh the past week or so.  My time was not nearly where I wanted it to be, so I knew right then and there that I had to change my game plan for the rest of the weekend.

Saturday morning welcomed a terrific 10km race, where again, my performance was subpar.  I enjoyed myself and ran, but I didn’t race.

Saturday afternoon was uncharted territory for me: a one-miler on the beach!  Barefoot and crazy, runners made their way 1/2 a mile up the beach, and then 1/2 a mile back.  It was…interesting to say the least.  I didn’t trip, so I’d say this race was a success.

Last but not least, Sunday morning rain fell upon an excited half marathon crowd.  I was a little ambitious following a pace group that was my original target pace, and not the target pace I knew I would be more comfortable with.  After a couple of miles, I fell behind, but stayed consistent for the rest of the race.  Slightly disappointed with my time, I was happy with my consistency, which I believe to be one of my strongest running qualities.

All in all, it was an eye opening weekend.  I realized how my overbooked schedule affected my running edge, and it lit a fire to do better and to work harder to reach another PR.  The whole “Four Races in One Weekend” thing was incredible.  I would absolutely conquer that quest again.

As this summer draws to a close, I end another chapter in my book, and look ahead to a new horizon: Senior year of college.  Better yet, a semester of student teaching, which will be an entirely new and exciting adventure.  The next couple of weeks will be full of transition and new experiences, and while I am currently yearning for simplicity, I have nothing more than to say, “bring it on.”

One thought on “Bring It On

Leave a Reply

