3 States, 2 Feet, 1 Morning

Today was the last big long run before the Lake Placid Marathon next month.  In Boston, it is easy to find places to run.  When in doubt, just run along the marathon course.  It has plenty of hills and a carriage road that protects you from traffic.  However, I am not in the city for the summer, so I had to come up with a plan.  I thought of some routes, but they all seemed boring (boring routes don’t help solo distance runs), especially the one that lapped my street 44 times.  The lack of sidewalks in Haverhill make finding a long run route challenging.  So, I ran to Maine.

22 miles up the Atlantic coast- Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine

It was a gorgeous day with stunning views.  The water looked so perfect, I could have dived right in.  With the ocean and beach scenery, I couldn’t help but think of the half marathon I ran in Wales just on the other side of the pond.  Except, there are fewer cliffs here, and my legs are okay with that.  And there are fewer sheep here too, as in no sheep.  I digress.

This run was mentally challenging, as running distance solo can be.  Luckily, my sister/best friend met me every three miles for water and a hug.  Breaking the run down into three mile segments really helped.  Oh, and seeing my sister, that helped too.

So the miles are in, and now it is time to taper.  I am only a few weeks away from marathon number two, and this run made me feel good about where I’m at.  Although, I could have run a little faster, but in hindsight, can’t we always run a little faster?  In the meantime, food and Netflix beckon.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to my sister for being my crew today.  I absolutely would not have been able to do this without you- mainly because of the water, but also the hugs
  • Thank you to the ocean air for clearing my mind and helping make an enjoyable longer than long run.
  • Than you to chocolate milk (a repeat “thank you note” many a time now, I know) for an on point carbs to protein ratio as well as a post-run treat.

Race Day is right around the corner, so stay tuned!  Thank you, as always, for reading.  Happy Running!

IMG_6032

Mile 21- Am I delusional, or are we in Maine? A little bit of both

Leave a Reply

