Oh, The Places You’ll Go

A lot has happened in the past year of my life.  At this time last year, I was getting ready to transfer schools, I was preparing for my first half marathon, then I started training for and fundraising for the marathon.  It has been a year of firsts, and there has been no looking back and no slowing down.  A week from tomorrow, I leave for Austria, where I will be studying abroad for four months.  As I make my to-do lists and packing lists, say my “see you later’s” to friends, and finish my last days at camp this summer, I have also been taking some time to reflect on the places I’ve been, and of course, the places I’ll go.

Next week, I plan on retiring my current pair of sneakers and breaking in a new pair before I leave for Austria, and I couldn’t help but think about all of the places these shoes have taken me.  They have interesting stories to tell.  Well over 300 miles- phase II of marathon training, the Boston Marathon, early morning long runs, evening jogs, road races ranging from 5k to 13.1 miles, and today, a hike up Mt. Monadnock.  These shoes were on my feet through every kind of weather imaginable, up and down every hill, and across every start and finish line.  I can’t help but look forward to the adventures I will encounter with my next pair of shoes.

IMG_3340

 

I live one challenge after the next, and I always learn something about myself or the world around me with every adventure.  The world is out there, and as long as I’m alive, I will take advantage of everything it has to offer!

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to my sister for hiking Mt. Monadnock with me today!  It was challenging, and I am so proud of you, we did it!  Thanks for all the laughs, love you!  I don’t know what I’m going to do without you for four months!
  • Thank you to chocolate milk for fueling the drive home this afternoon- an on point carbs to protein ratio!

Side Note:

  • My family made homemade grilled pizza for dinner, and it was a delight.  Everyone should try this.

IMG_3361

Leave a Reply

