There’s Pizza at the Finish Line

Today I participated in a half marathon with the goal of beating the time I ran in a half in October.  That’s it.  No fancy time goals, just do better than last time.

It was a BEAUTIFUL morning, perfect for a road race.  The sun was shining and there was a beautiful sea breeze along the route.  The scenery along the course was absolutely stunning, and it was a bit hillier than advertised, but that’s nothing of concern.  The course took us along the water, through marshlands, historic neighborhoods, and farmland.  Some of the views were picturesque to say the least.

My only regret is that I didn’t bring along my fuel belt, as water stops were few and far between, but other than that, this scenic route led me to a half marathon personal record!  I shaved nearly seven minutes off my previous half marathon time!

Awaiting at the finish line were race medals and pizza, two of my favorite things!  The medal doubles as a bottle opener- that’s innovation if I’ve ever seen it.  I redeemed my ticket provided at bib pickup for a delightful slice of pizza.  How could you not sign up for a race that provides pizza upon finishing?  I then found my sister for a post-race hug.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to my sister for coming to cheer me on!  I’m so glad you came.  Love you to the moon in back and then some 🙂
  • Thank you to this beautiful weather!  After a morning of hard work, I am now relaxing on the deck and enjoying the sunshine.
10294236_10204246063379661_4042241615001046195_n

Race medals and pizza! Which one to enjoy first?!

Leave a Reply

