Post-Marathon Identity Crisis

It has been just about a month since the 118th running of the Boston Marathon, and I miss it dearly.  I am home for the summer and I don’t really have any excitement to hold back about that, other than being closer to my family.  Nothing beats being able to run the streets of Boston, alone or with a group, and now I struggle to find an entertaining route longer than three miles.

My post-marathon plan was to focus on my speed, so that I can decrease my 1/2 marathon time in June, but it took longer than I ever anticipated to recover from the 26.2 mile quest, and now I am just trying to find a decent running routine.  I started doing yoga, which is something my body (and my mind) needs, and yesterday I went to my first barre class, which was quite enjoyable.  That being said, my quads are tight from class yesterday, not marathon tight though! (HA- you haven’t experienced pain until you’ve tried to sit on the toilet after running a marathon.)  Per usual, I continue the weekly tradition of running distance on Saturdays.

I thought the best way to decrease my mile time would be to hit the track. LOL I was wrong.  If anything, I think going to the track has set me back.  My legs just can’t handle it, unfortunately.  A morning at the track, and my legs hate me well into the evening, and sometimes it can take days to get back on track (no pun intended).  Whenever I leave the track, today especially, I leave in a frustrated state of mind.  So I decided to stick to the road, which is an issue because sidewalks are not as plentiful at home as they are in the city, and it’s, simply put, boring.  Hopefully I’ll discover a few good routes soon!

On a brighter note:

  • I am happy that get to mix up my routine this summer by taking workout classes that give my running muscles a much needed break.
  • I am happy that I don’t have to fuel for my runs in the school cafeteria.
  • I am happy that I have a few races coming up and I hope they’ll get me back in the swing of things.
Leave a Reply

