Thank You Notes

Training for a marathon is not easy, and I could not have done it alone.  While I am the only one who could run the miles, I would not have been able to do any of it without the constant support of my family and friends.  Here is my attempt to thank everyone who has helped me reach my goal, but as I said before, words just cannot do it justice, and I am unable to express my gratitude to you all.

When starting this project, I decided to write thank you notes with each entry as a way to find something good out of every day, even if the best thing one day is still having my toenails.

  • Thank you to all of the spectators that lined the course.  You may never know just how much that means to a runner, especially when you scream our names at the top of your lungs.  Your signs make us smile, make us laugh, and make us run on.  Thank you for the high fives, the cups of water, the pretzel rods, the wet towels, and most of all, your enthusiasm.  You all make running 26.2 miles that much easier.
  • Thank you to all of the volunteers along the route.  The marathon literally would not run without you.
  • Thank you to my toenails.  Five months of training, and you’re still hanging in there!  Some of you may be a different color than when we started, but still there nonetheless!
  • Thank you to my Mom.  I remember when I got the email saying I was accepted to run the Boston Marathon and I called you in tears.  Thank you for always being there for me and believing in me, regardless of the crazy things I do.  I hope I made you proud.
  • Thank you to my Dad.  You are my number one supporter, and my biggest cheerleader.  Thank you for answering my phone calls in the early Saturday hours, thank you for helping me organize donations, and thank you for being my rock.
  • Thank you to my Debra for reminding me to believe in myself when I get lost.  Thank you for believing in me.
  • Thank you to my sister and my best friend Kelli.  You are the coolest person I know.  If only I could be half the person you are.
  • Thank you to Lindsey.  Thank you for listening to me vent, and for constantly believing in me.  837 miles cannot keep best friends apart.
  • Thank you to Catherine.  You were with me a few years ago when I first decided I wanted to run a marathon.
  • Thank you Meg for making incredible posters, but more importantly, for constantly being there for me.  I hope these aren’t starting to sound redundant.
  • Thank you to Jenny for swimming with me on Thursdays and for helping me stretch.  Thanks for not making fun of my inflexibility too much.
  • Thank you to McClanahan for running some hills with me, and thank you to Kiley as well, we know how to throw productive homework parties!
  • Thank you you to every single one of my donors.  Your donation is going to one of the greatest causes I know.  Because of you, BWH can find more Life. Giving. Breakthroughs. and help people just like my grandmother and my cousin.  Thank you for your generosity.
  • Thank you to my BWH family.  Waking up early on Saturdays was much more enjoyable knowing that I got to be surrounded by such passionate and dedicated people.
  • Thank you to Boston for being my home and for being such a resilient city.
  • Thank you to my Family.  Family comes first.  I actually don’t have any words for this one.
  • Thank you to anyone and everyone who has reached out me since I started this project.  Classmates, teachers, family, friends, acquaintances- every message means the world to me.  Between kind words with donations, race day tweets and texts, and running into people around town, all of your encouragement and interest makes me smile.
  • Thank you to my roommate for putting up with the marathon lifestyle.  Sorry for all of the early alarms, and sorry you had to witness me foam roll.
  • Thank you to Kait.  I miss you so much, and if it wasn’t for you, I would still be figuring out the mile.
  • Thank you to my cousin Amanda for her logistical planning on race day.  Thank you for finding a way to get Meme to the race.
  • Thank you to everyone who has believed in me since the beginning.  There are far too many of you to name, but you know who you are.
  • Thank you to anyone who reads these posts.  The fact that people have taken an interest in this endeavor is shocking to me.  I said it in the beginning, I have no idea what I am doing, but thank you for coming along for the ride.

The Boston Marathon is the marathon of all marathons.  “It is your Superbowl, your World Series, your Final Four, there’s nothing else like it.”  This has been a truly amazing experience and I wish words could do it justice.

7 thoughts on “Thank You Notes

  1. How about a Thank You to you Christina Rose? Thank you for you hard work and dedication. You have been an inspiration to more people than you could ever imagine. You have proved to so many that when you put your mind to it anything is possible. Thank you for the wonderful journey. It has been a truly unforgettable experience. Can’t say enough how very proud we are of you!
    Love you

  2. The amount of times I have thought “oh my goodness my best friend ran the Boston Marathon” over the last two days is arguably too many and yet never enough. Those 837 miles will never keep us apart! I am so proud of you for absolutely everything that you have done and continue to do! You are such an inspiration and I can’t wait until we do RunDisney together! I love you! xoxo

  3. Thank YOU for making me cry as I read this. You really are such an amazing friend and an even more amazing person, and I consider myself both blessed to have you in my life and lucky to have been able to watch you on your journey to the finish line. And that journey was nothing short of remarkable! You did a wonderful thing for a wonderful cause, and I hope I don’t sound redundant saying this, but I will forever be so very proud of you. Those acorns that pelted our cars on our way to crew four years ago have nothing on you now…you’ve conquered the BOSTON MARATHON!!! Love you always Chrissy!! ❤

Leave a Reply

