Onward to the Finish Line of all Finish Lines

Words cannot accurately describe what happened yesterday, but I am about to try, so bear with me.

26.2 miles, 5:08:02

Pre-race (in a few words):

  • Hopped on the train to the Common and then boarded a bus bound for Hopkinton.  We got on the “cool” bus, as everyone started clapping and cheering as soon as a new passenger boarded.

    Hey wave 4! Race you to Boston!

    Hey wave 4! Race you to Boston!

  • Had to pee a lot

Waiting-in-the-corral thoughts:

  • “OMG it’s warmer than I anticipated”
  • “What am I about to do?”
  • “I’m about to run a marathon, but first, let me take a selfie.”

Miles 1-13:

  • The crowds were incredible, and that doesn’t even begin to sum it up.
  • Cue digestive troubles- the first half of the race did not go well for me.  I was experiencing some unforeseen issues and had to take two bathroom breaks, which set me back a little bit longer than I would have liked.
  • I saw my mom at mile 8.  I am so glad she was there early on, because I was really in a mental rut.
  • The sun was beating down on us, and I wasn’t feeling so great, and Katie saw that I was out of my element and was clearly beating myself up over it.  She told me to snap out of it and keep everything in perspective.  A lot of things about race day are very different than training, especially when you’re running and eating at a different time than you’re used to.  I don’t know what I would have done without you, Katie, I cannot thank you enough for pushing me closer and closer to that finish line.

Miles 14-16:

  • Don’t get me wrong, the first half of the race was warm, but this is when the heat really started getting to me.  I adjusted the pace a little, and made sure to keep up with hydration.  This is where adaptability comes into play.  Doing some rough subtraction every time I ran past a timer, as the clocks followed the 10:00 am start, I was pleased with where I was at.

Mile 17:

  • So. Hot. Out.
  • Still feeling kind of miserable
  • More of my family was standing at mile 17, and seeing them made me so happy and ready to make the turn for Heartbreak.
  • KEY TURNING POINT10259907_10202488216701360_4498351023120395486_n

Heartbreak Hill:

  • The Heartbreak section of the Boston Marathon can make or break your race, and, generally speaking, it tends to break it for too many people.  Not I!  I trained for this.  I beasted this section of the course and didn’t look back.  The hills woke my legs up and the crowds were unreal.  I’m pretty sure I ran Heartbreak faster than any other section of the course, high-fiving a countless amount of people and feeding off their energy.
  • I saw my aunt, my cousin, and a bunch of my friends on this section of the course, and I am so happy they were there.
  • Digestive troubles behind, running fast, taking in the atmosphere, running marathons can be fun!
  • From here forward, the crowds were even more incredible than previously stated.  I have never high fived so many people in my life.

Miles 21-23:

  • The only thing I can recall from this stretch is that the BC crowd was electric.  Thank you all for telling me how pretty I am.

Mile 24:

  • Thought: “Woah there Chrissy, you just ran so fast, calm it down now so you can speed it up again before you see your family at mile 25.  Save it.”
  • *Slows down* *Can’t speed up again* *Everything hurts*

Mile 25:

  • SAIL SQUAD
  • I saw my grandmother, cue the waterworks.  Race day was her 90th birthday, and she celebrated in style at the 118th running of the Boston Marathon.
  • It wasn’t until I saw my family at this point that I realized just how excited they were.  Seeing them cheer me on was so much more than I ever anticipated.  The only thing I can accurately compare their excitement to is that scene in Miracle when team USA beats the Soviets and they’re celebrating on the ice.  I have never heard screams so loud and so passionate.
  • Not too many paces later, I saw my mom again!  I am so glad she made it to two different sections of the race.
  • Ugh, the overpass.  So. Steep.  Thoughts: “Keep moving.”  Every training run ended with the overpass and it was generally miserable, same goes for race day.

Kenmore Square:

  • Saw my old roommate, she and I began training for 5Ks hardly a year ago.  If it wasn’t for her, I’d probably still be trying to run a mile.
  • Cue the coolest marathon signs ever made, props to Meg, Catherine, and Lindsey.
  • After I came out of the tunnel, I was too busy interacting with the crowd that I almost forgot to turn up Hereford Street.  Oops.10269632_10203540910154108_5929089260378290385_n
10291786_10152301302324034_4023579493072524733_n

Who looks that happy 25 miles into a Marathon?

Hereford Street:

  • Who decided they should put that hill there?

Boylston Street:

  • CONSTANT SMILES
  • Take it all in, Chrissy.  This is the coolest thing you have ever done.
  • I saw a BWH teammate as I progressed towards the finish line, and he didn’t look too well, so I cheered him on and we raced on towards the end, challenging each other.
  • Picked up the pace.  Always pick up the pace in the end, also, I didn’t want that guy to beat me.  I wanted him to finish strong, but not beat me (I won).

The Finish Line of all Finish Lines:

  • Tears

Post-Finish Line:

  • After receiving my medal, cape, food and water, I walked around for a few minutes, and then headed for the pre-determined meeting place to see my family.  I wanted nothing more than to sit down, so I figured, my family would be there, I’ll just take my time and take in what I just accomplished.  So I sat down.  A few minutes later, I decided I should keep trudging forward in my victory cape, but there was a slight dilemma.  I was stuck.  I physically could not stand up, so I called my sister and said, “So here’s the deal, I sat down and I can’t get up, so you’re going to have to come to me.”  Looking back, as much as I wanted to sit down, a curb probably wasn’t my greatest idea.
  • With my family, I walked back to school, feeling (simply put) exhausted and incredibly proud.

    Help! I've sat down and I can't get up!

    Help! I’ve sat down and I can’t get up!

To Sum:

  • I am incredibly sore, sunburnt (didn’t anticipate that), and exhausted, but this was the most amazing thing I have ever done.  Everything was worth it.
  • This was my first marathon, and it definitely won’t be my last.
  • Stay tuned for a special edition of “Thank You Notes”
15 thoughts on “Onward to the Finish Line of all Finish Lines

  1. You are amazing and I am so happy I got to see you twice along the route…I love you and am SOOOO proud of you!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Be proud of yourself for not only finishing a marathon but also making me cry on the plane as I read this. I am soooo proud of you for all of the hard work you out into your training! You ran the freaking Boston Marathon!!! So glad I could see you just before your crossed the finish line! Xoxo

  3. This morning when I woke up, I thought to myself: “wow, Chrissy ran a marathon yesterday….that is SO cool!” Then I went to the library and complained to myself “ugh I don’t want to write a paper”….and then I said to myself “Chrissy ran a frickin marathon yesterday. You can write a paper” So basically, you are such an inspiration and it was absolutely amazing to see you run (and smile while running!) I am so proud and grateful to have such a dedicated, hard-working, kind-hearted, AWESOME best friend. What an incredible accomplishment, I have no words for how proud I am. Congratulations!!! ❤️

    • *I have no words for how proud I am OF YOU (sorry, in all my excitement and other such emotions I forgot to finish my sentence!)

  4. Thank you for taking us along for the ride – mile by mile, street by street. Despite knowing you had completed the race, your above commentary was making me so anxious LOL! Congrats in the biggest possible way…..time to begin planning for your next big adventure (whatever great thing that may be!)

  5. Congrats Chrissy! It was a total honor to be with Cat, Meg and Lindsey to see you on your way to the finish line! You were truly an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

