I Have Confidence

i-have-confidence

“And mind me with each step I am more certain
Everything will turn out fine
I have confidence the world can all be mine
They’ll have to agree I have confidence in me”

Race weekend is upon us, and I am confidently attacking it head on, taking advantage of everything it has to offer, and soaking up all of its excitement, because it will be over before I even know it.  Yesterday I went to the expo to pick up my number!  It was really fun, but it was incredibly overwhelming.

IMG_2786

Following the expo, I walked down Boylston towards the finish line.  I walked past the finish line to the Old South Church.  (I wasn’t going to pass the finish line before race day, but I justified it by passing it on the sidewalk.  If you cross the finish line on the sidewalk, it technically doesn’t count because the timers are only in the street, so if I were to run past the finish line on the sidewalk during the race, I technically wouldn’t be finished.)  Anyways, the Old South Church is giving out scarves, donated from around the globe, to runners.  I had read about the project and decided to take a walk over there to check it out.  A woman came right up to me and put a handmade scarf around my neck and said she was wrapping me with courage and hope.  She threw her arms around me and wished me the best of luck in the race.  I couldn’t do anything but smile and thank her.  I felt so overjoyed with the kindness of strangers, and it reaffirmed my belief that people are good.

IMG_2790

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to everyone involved in the Marathon Scarf Project.  Your thoughtfulness is beautiful and heartwarming.
  • Thank you to my dad for coming running with me this morning.  The dynamic duo is back in action. 🙂
3 thoughts on “I Have Confidence

Leave a Reply

