Will Run for Pizza

The runner’s high following last week’s 22-miler did not get me through this tough week.  This week felt sluggish and achy.  I suppose that’s what happens when you’re in beast mode for 22 consecutive miles.  A sluggish week well achieved.  My legs felt like lead during Tuesday’s hill run, but I got in all eight hills, slowly but surely.  I aimed for an easy week to give my body the opportunity to recover.

Today was the final team long run.  A bittersweet milestone.  It means the race is right around the corner, and it means that soon enough I won’t have to drag myself out of bed and out the door in the early hours of every Saturday, but it also means I won’t be able to spend my Saturday mornings surrounded by other people who understand and appreciate running.  After a fast and easy twelve miles, we celebrated with a pizza party, because sometimes life just calls for pizza, and pizza is a good motivation and visualization tool a few miles into a long run.

After the pizza party I headed across the river to cheer on my sailing teammates.  On my way to the regatta, I reflected on just how far I have come since I started training in December.  I nonchalantly ran twelve miles today and it felt good.  Being able to say that makes me so proud, considering I could hardly run a consistent mile eighteen months ago.

My downfall this week was stretching.  I did not stretch nearly enough and I certainly felt it during today’s run.  With sixteen days left until race day, I definitely need to get back into my stretching and rolling routine.  On that note, OMG THERE’S ONLY SIXTEEN DAYS UNTIL RACE DAY.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to pizza for being in the back of my mind during today’s run.  I’m not sure if that is why I ran faster miles today, but it very well could be.
  • Thank you to my muscles for not giving up on me today, especially you, IT band.  I am sorry for the way I treated you this week.
  • Thank you to all of my awesome donors.  As of today, I have raised $10,815, which is 120% of my fundraising goal.  Keep it coming!  I and so many people at BWH thank you!
Leave a Reply

