A Word to the Naysayers

Running a marathon isn’t easy.  That’s the point.  It’s a process.  It takes time.  No one can wake up one day and simply run a marathon, but that doesn’t mean you can’t start.  Everybody has to start somewhere.  When I tell people that I’m training for my first marathon, they tend to say, “Good for you!  I could never do that,” or “I’ve always wanted to run a marathon but I don’t think I could do it.”  My response to that is “not with that attitude.”  Through training I have learned so much about the human body and what it is capable of and that I can do absolutely anything that I set my mind to.  I continue to amaze myself with every long run.  If you want to run a marathon, or a 5k or a 10k, or just about anything, then do it.  What’s stopping you?  (Tell your mind to shut up, then try to find something that’s stopping you.  Nothing?  That’s what I thought.)

It’s certainly not easy, but you’ll get there, one step at a time, one foot in front of the other.  I started running about a year and a half ago, and I couldn’t even run a mile without feeling like the world was caving in on me, but I never let that get me down.  Working running into my lifestyle was the most difficult part, but I continued to run, and build my muscles, stamina, and mental strength, and soon enough a single mile turned into 5k, then 5 miles, then 10k, and suddenly a half marathon.

Last Fourth of July I ran my first 10k, in the heat of summer, on an intimidatingly hilly course.  About half-way through the race, I thought to myself, “I want to run a marathon?  There’s no way I can run a marathon.  I feel horrible and this is only a 6 mile race.”  Then it clicked.  I found the key to distance running (and they key to life if you ask me).  I can run a marathon.  I just can’t run a marathon right now.  So I continued to work and find a way to commit the time to running, amidst the chaos of life.  Early mornings, late nights, or studying on the treadmill, I made it happen and haven’t looked back since.

I hope this has cured some mid-week blues, or inspired someone (anyone) to set out and reach their goals, because from my current vantage point, every sacrifice has been worth it, and I want nothing more than to share this story in hopes that it helps someone else reach their own dreams.  According to my “Words of Wisdom” Pinterest board, there’s an abundance of inspirational quotes that I could insert here, but I couldn’t pick just one, and I’m unsure of how proper citations work (MLA, APA, IDK?), so I decided to forgo an inspirational quote altogether and figured you all received the main idea of this post.  Go start an amazing endeavor, and remember that you’re not trying to impress anyone but yourself, and you’re not trying to challenge or beat anyone but yourself.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to my Mom, my Dad, my Debra, my sister Kelli, my “not-sisters” Katie and Emily, and my friends and family for putting up with my “go go go” attitude and high hopes, and never failing to support me and give me the confidence and courage to continue when I feel like I’m in over my head.  You all mean so much to me and I don’t think I get to express that enough.
  • Thank you to alarm clocks.  I wouldn’t be able to get everything done in a day without you rudely waking me up from much needed sleep.  (Sleep is for the weak.  Just kidding- sleep is very necessary for properly functioning humans.)
  • Thank you to Broadway Showtunes Pandora for constantly providing the soundtrack to my days.  I appreciate you and your catchy and uplifting tunes.
3 thoughts on “A Word to the Naysayers

  1. This has definitely inspired me to do the history readings tonight! Who knows, maybe this time next year I will be more comfortable with running, will never know if I don’t try! You’re awesome Chrissy, so inspired by you and your abilities! ^_^

  2. You should team up with Amy Roloff and give inspirational speeches together. Also, my phone wants to autocorrect Roloff to ROLOFF so obviously the only time I talk about them is yelling to you via text that LPBW is on TV.

Leave a Reply

