The Never Ending To Do List

Experienced runners told me that running a marathon is like a full time job.  I am halfway through the semester and almost halfway through marathon training, and let me tell you, my mind and body are both feeling it.

On the marathon end of things, keeping up with the mileage is one thing, but also cross training, stretching, foam rolling, and icing (which are more time consuming than they appear to be, so I have learned).  Not to mention eating properly…and enough, which I have discovered to be challenging whenever I enter the school cafeteria.  Macaroni and cheese again? Oh okay.  It was only a few weeks ago that I realized I wasn’t eating nearly enough to support my training.  I’m constantly hungry and a recurring thought in my mind is, “but I just ate an hour ago.” Honestly, I really don’t mind eating more.  Om nom.  (Nutrition is hands down just as important as running.  Insert future blog post here.)  Then there’s getting enough sleep, which is also a struggle for an insomniac like myself, who’s body needs rest, but mind apparently doesn’t want any.  Running (literally) on little sleep is not the funnest thing to do.  Oh, did I mention the planning involved in marathon training?  Find a way to build up from 8 miles to 26 miles over a course of four months that isn’t going to interfere with your school or social life…okay go!!   New England is experiencing one of the messiest winters in a long time, which means that we dedicated runners either run through it (dangerous) or run around it (time consuming).  Sorry to all of my friends that have gotten the excuse, “sorry, I’m running” since December.

Fundraising?  There goes a few hours.  While it is time consuming, I actually don’t mind it too much because BWH is such a great cause, but sometimes I sit down to organize some fundraising and suddenly four hours have passed.  Oops.

Training over winter break was great.  Then I remembered that I had to go to school.  The fact that I’m a student slipped my mind.  Luckily, I pride myself on time management and list making (and accomplishing).  Classes, sailing, and the MTEL consume me.  Usually when I get stressed out over piles of homework, I have to step back and remind myself that it’s probably not due for another week, except for that paper I should be writing right now (that is not due til Friday, but obviously it needs to be done tonight- the underside of Japan’s modernization is just too exciting to put off).  I wish I could explain my thought processes better.

Today I received a delightful email saying that I have been accepted to study abroad in Salzburg, Austria in the fall!!!  I am so excited that I have another great adventure waiting for me post-marathon.  Things are being crossed off my bucket list left and right!  If you can’t tell, I like to do things.  I also have to learn German.  BRB.

Sometimes when I look at my to do list, I think to myself that there’s no way it’s all going to get done.  After all, there are only 24 hours in a day, but then I compare it to my running.  There was a time when I thought that running 10k was impossible, and I managed to do that, then 16 miles?  There’s no way I can do that.  Then I did.  Everything always gets done.  One step at a time.  It’s certainly not easy, but it definitely is worth it.

4 thoughts on “The Never Ending To Do List

  1. Hey!! Congrats on your acceptance to study abroad. Is the anything you can’t do Cousin Christina? I am very proud Cousin Mare! XO

Leave a Reply

