Out With the Old, In With the New

Since realizing I have over 300 miles on my shoes, I made the time today to get new sneakers, which I find to be extremely overwhelming, as there are so many different kinds, styles, brands, colors, etc. to choose from.  After my workout, lunch, and class, I headed over to Marathon Sports where they fitted me for the perfect shoe and gave me only a few options to choose from, which made things immensely easier.

Out with the old...

Out with the old…

...and in with the new.

…and in with the new.

Is it silly to say I’m attached to a pair of shoes?  No.  My coral New Balance sneakers were my first pair of real running shoes.  I say “real” running shoes because they were the first pair of shoes that I reserved strictly for running.  I did research on them before committing to the purchase.  I wore them around the house before ever running in them as a way to break them in.  I got sad (and incredibly proud at the same time) when I did the math and realized just how many miles I logged in those shoes.  Those shoes got me through my first half marathon and a really good portion of marathon training.  They were on my feet when I fell in love with running, and they were with me as I ran through rain, sleet, snow, sunshine, the city, and the trails.  We’ve been through a lot together, but they really are hurting my feet ( 😦 ), so it was a good move to invest in a new pair.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to my now old running shoes.  You were a good pair of shoes.  (Okay, time to move on, Chrissy.)
  • Thank you to my new pair of running shoes for offering much more (needed) support.  My feet thank you, and I suppose I do too.
  • Thank you to chocolate milk for having the perfect carbs to protein ratio and being the best post-workout treat.

If you haven’t done so already, please check out my fundraising page for Brigham and Women’s Hospital (and donate 🙂 ).  You won’t regret it and I’ll love you forever.  I’m 45% of the way there, which is AMAZING.  Thank you!

http://www.crowdrise.com/bwh2014bostonmarathon/fundraiser/christinaaccardi

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Out With the Old, In With the New

  1. Just think how many new miles (and memories!) you’ll have with those snazzy new shoes! And you, of course, are awesome no matter what shoes ya wear..so proud of you girl!

Leave a Reply

