One Step at a Time

How does one run sixteen miles?  Fast or slow, everybody runs sixteen miles one step at a time, one foot in front of the other.  Today I set another personal distance record, and I’m not going to lie, it was a struggle.  It took a while, but I finished.  The run started off well, but then the pack thinned out and I ran most of the course alone (sorry, Dad).  For me, running distance alone is the ultimate mental test.  Thankfully, water stops were plentiful along the route, which assured me that I was in fact still on the route.  On my way back towards the city, I stopped to use the bathroom, and got an unexpected (but incredibly welcomed) call from my sister/best friend after I got back onto the road.  We chatted for a few minutes and she gave me the confidence and motivation to keep going.  One step at a time.  I finally made it back to Beacon Street, and at that point, most of the signs read “Bacon” in my eyes.  It seemed like forever until I saw the Citgo sign from afar like a bacon in the night (See what I did there?  Running for such a distance apparently makes me crazy.)  Finally, the home stretch.  I certainly felt the last few miles and confirmed that I do in fact need new sneakers.  I did the math yesterday, and I’m about due for a new pair, which makes me sad since I have become weirdly attached to my sneakers.  I logged over 300 miles on my sneakers, one step at a time.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to my sister, Kelli for the surprise phone call.  You really helped me keep going.  I love and miss you.
  • Thank you to today for being sunny and 40 degrees, rather than below freezing, snowing, and/or raining.  Way to keep things fresh, New England!

This post is almost over, and I’m going to go watch Netflix for most likely the rest of the day, but not before I ask you all to consider donating to my fund for Brigham and Women’s Hospital and their quest for Life Giving Breakthroughs.  Thanks for reading and donating 🙂

http://www.crowdrise.com/BWH2014BostonMarathon/fundraiser/christinaaccardi

2 thoughts on “One Step at a Time

Leave a Reply

