“An Easy Ten”

Today was early morning long run number two, an “easy” ten miles.  I never thought I would get to the point where I could say that running ten miles is an easy day, and I still (honestly) don’t know how I do it.  It was much warmer than I anticipated today (20’s).    The excursion started with a massive horde of runners taking over a Riverside bound train.  The  entire ride was spent comparing running apps, gps watches, and other gear, as well as sharing tips and tricks of the course.  Then we ran the ten miles back to Kenmore Square.

The entire run, including the hills went well!!  Post-run I made my way home home, rather than school home, and took my first ever ice bath.  It “hurt so good,” as they say.  I didn’t last too long, but it definitely helped my sore muscles, and I will definitely be taking more ice baths in the future as the mileage builds.

IMG_2617Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to ice, which I have a love-hate relationship with, as it is great for recovering after a good run, but it is also dangerous to run (and also walk) on because it is, well, slippery.
  • Thank you to my magenta Turtle Fur Kids headband for still fitting me and keeping me both stylish and warm during chilly runs.

As of right now, I have raised 38% of my fundraising goal, and I would like to thank everyone who has donated to Brigham and Women’s Hospital!  86 days and $5,595 to go!  Follow the link below to donate!

http://www.crowdrise.com/bwh2014bostonmarathon/fundraiser/christinaaccardi

4 thoughts on ““An Easy Ten”

  1. Ice baths: worked wonders for sparing the rest of my day from exhaustion. Also, I remember having the same thoughts of “I don’t even know how I’m at this point.” Who would have thought I could run 10 miles and call it easy? That’s why when everyone always said to me ‘I can’t believe you can run that far’ I ALWAYS said, neither could I! You’re doing great Chrissy! Don’t let any upcoming bumps discourage you!

Leave a Reply

