A Birthday Personal Distance Record

Today I set out to run the longest distance I have yet to run, 14 miles, and it happened to fall on my birthday!  What an excellent birthday present!  Today was my first run with the team, and I’m not going to lie, I was nervous about going.  I actually left my building in tears because it doesn’t take much to make me cry and I got little to no sleep last night and was afraid I wouldn’t be able to accomplish what I set out to do today.  Nevertheless, I persevered and ran those fourteen miles with gusto (it was actually 15, whoops).  I kept a steady pace with my new running friend Jen, who is also running the Boston Marathon for a charity team.  She and I accidentally made a wrong turn and ended up doing an extra mile and a few more hills than anybody wants to encounter during a distance run.  We only realized we made a wrong turn when we couldn’t see any other runners for a while, but we ran through the cold rain and defeated the Saturday distance run.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to the 7-time marathoner who ran with us for a few minutes and offered some of his excellent Boston Marathon wisdom.  “It’s all gravy until you see the sign that says ‘Welcome to Newton’.”  Thank you, sir.  I will remember that.
  • Thank you to my friends who helped me celebrate my birthday last night by watching The Sound of Music and giving me an Alex and Ani bracelet and Georgetown Cupcakes.  I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate than with good friends, a good movie, and delicious cupcakes.
  • Thank you to everyone who texted me a “happy birthday.”  Every time I looked down at my phone and saw a new message, I ran a little faster.
Champion: Resilience, Willpower, Achievement

Champion: Resilience, Willpower, Achievement

And as always, please don’t forget to donate to my Brigham and Women’s Marathon Team fund by following the link below.  Thank you for reading and for donating!

http://www.crowdrise.com/bwh2014bostonmarathon/fundraiser/christinaaccardi

Leave a Reply

