Wintry Annoyances

Today’s run was warm (considering last week’s), and wet.  Very very wet.  It was only drizzling, but if you can recall the folks who opted out of shoveling the sidewalks in front of their homes last week, then you can only imagine the puddles of slush that took over the sidewalks.  I’m going to go out on a limb and assume they didn’t shovel after yesterday’s snow either.  At points, running on ice-crusted snowbanks was easier than sloshing through puddles of sad, dirty, wintry annoyances.  I will admit that the run got a little better once the fog lifted, but other than that it was a pretty dismal run through my hometown.  I think it is safe to say that I’m happy to be returning to the city next week where a distance run does not consist of 6-8 laps around a single neighborhood.  Despite the conditions, I completed the run so it’s another success story.

Thank You Notes:

  • Thank you to music for being the best running partner ever, especially you, Beyoncé, although I think that goes without saying.
  • Thank you to everyone who has donated to Brigham and Women’s and everyone who will donate.  I am forever grateful to you all (This post’s official plug for donations:  See link below).
  • Thank you to my running shoes for not giving up on me today through the puddles, and everyday for that matter.

http://www.crowdrise.com/bwh2014bostonmarathon/fundraiser/christinaaccardi

Leave a Reply

